By Accident, This Turned Into Art Week


price

My sister is part of trio singing “The Times They Are A-Changin'” at Quire concert. Love the hat, too.

The performance of “The Times They Are A-Changin’” was particularly poignant. Despite the election of 2016, long-term tides of history are still flowing.

The Quire: Eastern Iowa’s GLBT Chorus presented “Make Them Hear You: Songs of Pride and Protest” on June 10 at Zion Lutheran in Iowa City. It was a great concert, and I’m glad I went.

friends

Singing “You Have More Friends Than You Know” at concert. This is actually my favorite image of my sister from the concert, because she is so caught up in the song.

It began with “Fire and Rain,” by James Taylor. Not exactly what you think of as either pride or protest, but a song that always gets to me. It’s such a raw, sad, direct song, full of emotion. The Quire did it very well.

Anyway, you can see my images of the Quire concert here.

It was one of two concerts my wife and I attended this week. On Monday, we traveled to Des Moines to hear Tom Petty—who seems to be in pretty good form, still doing well with his 40 years of songs.

“Won’t Back Down”—now that would have been a good song for the Quire concert, too. Anyway, I enjoyed hearing Petty himself sing it in Des Moines.

Petty

Tom Petty in Des Moines June 5, 2017.

Besides two concerts, we were by chance in two different outdoor sculpture displays. Before the Petty concert, we spent some time strolling through the Papajohn Sculpture Garden in Des Moines. And the morning before the Quire concert, we went to a farmers market in Marion, and ended up walking up and down the Art Alley there. See my images from Des Moines and Marion.

I can only hope the times are indeed changing, as I have some problems with the times we are in now. One response to troubled times, I think, is art. It can help us share and express emotions and tap deep experiences that aren’t just tied to the news of the day.

So bravo, Quire, Petty, Des Moines, Marion. Art! In both music and sculpture, we need it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

