Try To Remember That Time …


Bulbs I planted over fall break.

Bulbs I planted over fall break.

I made a quick movie of an MMU Handbell Ensemble song. The university recorded an October concert on a CD, and my choir director asked if I could do something to post it.

Well, I have lots of “B-roll” images of bells and the chapel were the concert was, so I did it.

“Try to Remember” seems like a good theme song for this long, dry, glorious fall. As a gardener, I would not mind a bit more wet, but at least, after three dry weeks, we got some this past week. I took advantage of the weather to plant some bulbs for next spring, and if the squirrels don’t find them, we should have some new daffodil, tulips, hyacinth and crocus. I also planted irises, although I know that the iris and I are a lost cause, for some reason.

Anyway, this has been a very pretty and slightly odd fall. We had one freeze, but it was truly not enough to kill off the bugs, as anybody who has been biking or gardening outside can tell you. Before the freeze, a local weather forecaster predicted it would cause the fall colors to peak and quickly fade.

Hill in Frisbee Golf Course area of Boyson Trail.

Hill in Frisbee Golf Course area of Boyson Trail.

Well, they have more than peaked. We are getting to mid to late fall when there are more bare trees. But the maples didn’t toss all their leaves at the first freeze, as predicted, and there are plenty of trees with color left.

Oak tree at Thomas Park along Boyson Trail.

Oak tree at Thomas Park along Boyson Trail.

Which is fine by me. I don’t really mind the late fall brown landscape—being able to see the shapes of hills were usually there is only a leafy curtain has its charms. But I am a plant guy, and I do prefer the pretty of early and mid fall to the barren late fall and winter.

And, of course, I love spring. So I planted some bulbs in the hopes of making it even more pleasant.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

