World War I Event Reminder-Movie Week!


This week is “movie week!”

Dr. Jim Grove and Dr. Joy Ochs of our excellent English program will discuss the legacy of World War I in film Tuesday, Sept. 2 at 3:30 p.m. in the Flaherty Community room at MMU.

On Thursday at 3:30, in Betty Cherry Heritage Hall, the movie “All Quiet on the Western Front” will be shown. And there will be popcorn.

It’s all part of ou????????????r ongoing WWI series at Mount Mercy University. Check out more events here.  All of these events are free and open to the public, so I hope to see you there!

The video, by the way, is from local Cable TV and was posted on Twitter by MMU. It feels very odd to see myself speak, but what can you do?

I don’t think Brad Pitt is going to play Joe in the story of my life.

5 Comments

Filed under History

5 responses to “World War I Event Reminder-Movie Week!

  1. You should show “Paths of Glory.” It’s one of my favorite war films.

    • CRGardenJoe

      I have not seen it, but have heard of it. It’s on my short list of movies I would like to see–I’m sure Dr. Grove, our film studies professor, will talk about it at the lecture today!

      • CRGardenJoe

        Yes, as you will see in my new post, “Paths of Glory” featured prominently in the movie lecture. And yes, it made me want to see the movie even more.

  2. You look maaaaahvelous! When do you take your seat on Meet the Press?

Leave a Reply

