10 Signs That Spring Is Indeed Here


Spring break! How sweet it is. In fact, I have to grade some speech proposals in the morning, so I don’t get to forget the semester for long—but once that one batch of grading passes, I plan to take the weekend off, something I have not done since Christmas.

Those who don’t teach don’t realize how often it morphs into a 7-day-a-week death march during busy times, and how some semesters, “busy times” seems to describe more weeks than not. But, as those with “real” jobs might assert, not everyone gets summers off, or a spring break, either.

Fair enough. And the weather next week will make it feel more like late winter break, I’m afraid. Still, despite the chill coming in the next days, our hemisphere is committed now to facing the sun, and spring is inevitably, ever so slowly, oozing Old Man Winter out the door.

And here, in photos, are 10 signs of spring:

1) Flowers that bloom in the spring tra la! Not mine, but I had something to do with them. My wife and I and our two area daughters bought a bunch of fall bulbs which were planted in gardens in our three yards. In one, a grandson who was “helping” dropped some crocus bulbs into a window well. Apparently the micro-climate in that sunny well is zone 6 or so, because that’s where, early this week, the daughter saw buds appear which are now flowers. These are cell phone images the daughter texted to me (I took all of the other spring photos). She was pretty excited. She wins–first flowers.

The crocus Thursday or so, in bloom.

The crocus Thursday or so, in bloom.

The crocus in the window well earlier this week, budding.

The crocus in the window well earlier this week, budding.

2) Daffodils at MMU. Not blooming, but just starting to knife through the soil around the reflecting pool at Our Lady of Sorrows Grotto.

Daffodils poked through the cool soil on the shores of the MMU grotto pond.

Daffodils poking through the cool soil on the shores of the MMU grotto pond.

3) Young men growing in the reflecting pool. No, not really, the pool, now ice free, being drained for spring cleaning.

MMU facilities worker draining pond for spring cleaning.

MMU facilities worker draining pond for spring cleaning.

4) A bike (mine) in a bike rack at Warde Hall. The rack had been closed by a giant mound of snow shoveled there from a nearby walk. As you can see, the snow is not totally gone, but gone enough that the rack has emerged from winter hibernation.

My bike by receding glacier near Warde Hall, MMU.

My bike by receding glacier near Warde Hall, MMU.

5) Grandkids playing at a park. Finally it’s sunny and warm enough to do that. Then again, we do sled at this same park during the winter, but it’s not the same …

He will soon shoot down slide on his own. She will insist that I catch her, but she is the Overlord and I am one of her many minions.

He will soon shoot down slide on his own. She will insist that I catch her, but she is the Overlord and I am one of her many minions.

6) Grandkids who insist they walk home with me rather than ride with mom in the van. Shown is the Overlord, with her siblings in the background. Good for her, her older sister and her brother for walking, but bad for me. I ended up carrying the Overlord for quite a distance. Still, it was fun to be out walking.

Happy spring walk.

Happy spring walk.

7) Dry Creek, seen from the Boyson Trail. So much snow has melted that the creek, isn’t dry, but it isn’t frozen either, and that’s new.

The world is brown, but at least it isn't white anymore. And green is coming, we can tell.

The world is brown, but at least it isn’t white anymore. And green is coming, we can tell.

8) Some seeds sprouting indoors. My Chia gnome in my MMU Warde Hall office. Don’t judge me. It was a gift. The spring sunshine in the office is enough to aid sprouting that makes Mr. gnome look rather scruffy.

There's no beard like gnome.

There’s no beard like gnome.

9) Ebony and ivory together in harmony side by side on a piano keyboard in a classroom at MMU. I got to touch piano keys during my music lesson this week—progress! The key to the left of the two black ones is C. I need to learn all the others.

Piano in Warde Hall. The one in Tony's office is nicer, but they keys still look like this.

Piano in Warde Hall. The one in Tony’s office is nicer, but they keys still look like this.

10) Me in the morning with the blue sky behind me. I actually used this selfie for my other blog to show the crack in the mirror, but that looks like a nice spring sky to me.

Me with mirror crack. The door did it, not I, so no bad luck, right?

Me with mirror crack. The door did it, not I, so no bad luck, right?

There you have it, 10 images of what the bright, sunny, warmer, flower-filled future holds. You’re welcome.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

