The Scenery of a Spring Sky


Late afternoon sky seen form Rockwell-Collins parking lot on my bike ride home.

Late afternoon sky seen form Rockwell-Collins parking lot on my bike ride home.

Well, the sky has started to turn interesting again. In winter, it seems that when it snows, the sky goes ghostly white or slate grey and that’s about it.

Today, the day started with a pretty spring sun, but clouded over. But not evenly, the clouds were clumped with gaps of blue. Late in the afternoon, a quick rain moved through.

On the way home, I thought some cars were throwing up some pebbles. But then, I realized no cars were beside me—the “pebbles” were pellets of ice raining down.

Another sky view.

Another sky view.

Fortunately, the ice storm was very short lived, even if it did sting a bit.

I take it as a sign of spring. In spring and summer, the sky has its’ best cloud scenery, tall mountains with whites and greys and greens and blacks. Then, the twister hits and you end up in Oz.

Well, so maybe a spring sky isn’t an unmixed blessing. Still, it is good to see. The world is brown at the moment, the snow newly melted, but the sunshine promises future green.

I guess I’ll take that interesting sky.

Looking west down Blair's Ferry Road at 5 p.m.. Then, the cloud unleashed some ice. Oh well, I'm still happy to see a spring sky.

Looking west down Blair’s Ferry Road at 5 p.m.. Then, the cloud unleashed some ice. Oh well, I’m still happy to see a spring sky.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

