The Importance Of Walking On A Warm March Day


Deer in the neighbors yard. They were walking today to--saw lots of them in the creek bed behind the house.

Deer in the neighbor’s yard. They were walking today to–saw lots of them in the creek bed behind the house.

What with one thing and another, I’m going to be super busy over the next few hours, frantically grading and trying to get ready for another week of school.

I took the time for a fairly long stroll with the sweetie late this afternoon, and am not 100 percent sure I should have. The grading fairies did not show up while I walked.

But, it’s important on one of the first nice days of March to get out there and dodge the puddles. We’ve been cooped up too long by a cold winter. We headed up C Avenue and down the Lindale Trail, and I noted to my wife that the only regret I had was that I had not taken the time for a bike ride. “Oh,” she asked, “would you rather be on a bike ride?”

Well, no. A stroll felt right, as did strolling with her. It’s pretty muddy, and a ride would have been splashy. And I will commute by bike a bit this week and get fodder for my bike blog. I just meant it was one of the first days when I could have put in some serious miles.

No time for that today. Grades for mid-term due in just about a week. But then, two weeks from now, spring break.

And I am glad I got out today. Walking season is just getting started. That mild time to debrief and visit about our days—the season for evening strolls really starts when daylight savings time gives us some late afternoon sun.

Well, welcome walking seasons. Glad you are back. I plan to enjoy you.

Low sun over Dry Creek on the bridge over the short Boyson Trail. We went down the Lindale Trail, through a Marion neighborhood and then back home via Boyson Road and streets in our neighborhood. About an hour's walk.

Low sun over Dry Creek on the bridge over the short Boyson Trail. We went down the Lindale Trail, through a Marion neighborhood and then back home via Boyson Road and streets in our neighborhood. About an hour’s walk.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Importance Of Walking On A Warm March Day

  1. It was indeed the perfect day for an outdoor stroll, and my husband and I followed suit–but did it about our countryside neighborhood. Pure Joy!! We’ve been walking in at the mall to try and stay ahead of calories and loose muscles and we are both grateful for that, but this walk outside today under that blue sky and getting some sun on our faces—well, that was just pure Heaven. It’s even starting to smell like spring out there. There is a promise now for sure!

Leave a Reply

