Snow Day, Grade Day, Spider Day, Go To Work in PM Day


A squirrel in an ash tree in my front yard on this snowy morning.

A squirrel in an ash tree in my front yard on this snowy morning.

(Aside to a sister, avoid reading to the end of this post if you don’t want to see the creepy crawly who was keeping me company.)

Well, isn’t Mother Nature in a snit this winter?

Channel 9 warned us this weekend that Monday would be ugly. My wife and I awoke at 5 a.m., when the nagging alarm told us it’s “gym time.” We looked out, but saw nothing, and got dressed. But, in the 10 minutes it took us to don sweatpants and socks, a sound started, sort of like a bunch of tiny pebbles being dropped on a board.

There was ice falling from the sky with an odd sandy rattle. We opened the front door, and briefly considered staying at home because who wants to be out in ice? But the ice wasn’t heavy yet, and the gym is nearby, so off we went.

While we were there, the news flashed on the TV screen: Mount Mercy University is closed for the day. Then our cell phones rang. “Mount Mercy is closed for the day,” they confirmed. The snow day will cause me to reshuffle a bunch of syllabi, and I still have to go in to the office late this afternoon to print papers and practice bell ringing, but both my wife and I had the same two-part reaction: First: hooray! And second: morning nap time!

Later, when I got up again, this time around 9 a.m., I noticed a squirrel scampering across the front yard, and I scampered to get my camera and shot a few snow photos out my windows.

My attempt to photograph snowflakes falling. The tree in the background is deliberately out of focus as I try to get an image of the flakes themselves.

My attempt to photograph snowflakes falling. The tree in the background is deliberately out of focus as I try to get an image of the flakes themselves.

Also while we were at the gym, the ice quickly changed to snow, which was a bit of blessing because I just would rather not deal with ice storms, thank you. Say what you will about the white stuff cascading from the skies—and I’m sure lots of people will have some nasty things to say—it’s far nicer than ice.

Well, I’m sure my wife would remind me that “blogging” doesn’t count as catching up on work. Back to the salt mines, even on this snow day.

Still, the world is pretty when it is covered in new white snow. There will be some melting this week. The company I ordered flowers from this spring just e-mailed me an “order status” message to remind me that there will be an April sometime in the future and I should get new flowers delivered then that supposedly I will be able to plant in thawed ground.

And while I was finishing this post, my pal showed up, the hunting spider who spends her time killing small insects in my office, a service I consider valuable so I try not to hassle her. Somehow, arachnid life seems like a foreshadowing of spring, too.

Hang on, Iowans. Enjoy the snow day. What else can you do?

My pal, the office spider, who showed up by a syllabus I'm updating when I'm not blogging.

My pal, the office spider, who showed up by a syllabus I’m updating when I’m not blogging.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Snow Day, Grade Day, Spider Day, Go To Work in PM Day

  1. You are much kinder to those particular spiders than I, Joe. I would have had to squish him. Love critters, but these little dudes do not belong in my home. Hope you enjoyed your whole day!

    • CRGardenJoe

      Well, my tolerance is situational. It helps that this critter is in my office. I would not be quite so thrilled to have it in my bedroom. But, somehow, this guest in the office doesn’t bother me much.

Leave a Reply

