Christmas 2013–Projectiles of Love


Red-bellied woodpecker brings some Christmas colors to my back deck Dec. 25, 2013.

Red-bellied woodpecker brings some Christmas colors to my back deck Dec. 25, 2013.

A fierce gunfight has been raging for some minutes in my living room, with my wife and youngest son Ben as participants. We’ve wondered if the neighbors could have heard recent dialogue:

“You’re lying on my gun. Quit lying on my gun!”

“You’re lying on your own gun. It’s your own fault you can’t shoot.”

It’s probably helpful to note that these are Nerf guns. And raging mother-son gunfights are one of the themes of Christmas 2013.

This was also the Christmas that Nina introduced us to record bowls—decorative bowls made my warming an old vinyl album and reshaping it. Nina asked me to pick up a couple of $1 albums at Half-Price Books, so I sacrificed Rod Stewart. It’s the equivalent of picking which albums to toss at zombies. The bowls look pretty cool. From her blog, here’s how to make them.

And this was the Christmas where we’ve enjoyed multiple birds at our feeders. It’s been colder earlier than usual, and we have about a foot of snow on the ground, but at least that means we get to see more birds (and squirrels) visiting us for food.

During the holiday season, both Ben and I have used the family Santa suit, which adds a bit to the festivities.

Santasaurus! If you're bad, you'll be lucky if he tells Santa. Otherwise, he will eat you.

Santasaurus! If you’re bad, you’ll be lucky if he tells Santa. Otherwise, he will eat you.

Finally, this is the season that Amanda, through Facebook, has introduced us to Santasaurus. It’s a T Rex in Christmas garb who has been hanging out with her girls in Norwich, England, this season. Is it bad that her 3-year-old is particularly smitten with this jolly old carnivore? I think he makes Elf on the Shelf look like a helpless wimp.

And the Christmas season hasn’t ended, yet. We still have the New Year’s Day 2014 brunch at Cate’s. And I have the Epiphany Concert Jan. 5 at St. Pius X.

Ho, ho, ho!

NOTE: As Amanda points out in a comment, it’s her 2-year-old who loves Santasaurus. And it’s also SANTASAURUS!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Christmas 2013–Projectiles of Love

  1. SANTASAURUS!! And it’s the two year old who loves him, truly madly deeply–he’s bitey. She can relate. The four year old likes him but is less passionately in love.

    • CRGardenJoe

      After I posted, I started to wonder. Juliette is slightly younger than Amelia and Quinn, I was thinking, So 3 seems a bit old. So, 2. And I can see why she likes him. He’s bitey and cute and mean and red and probably makes growly sounds which are part of the language of 2-year-olds.

Leave a Reply

