The Winter Flowers At My Feeders


 

Birds? Heck with the birds. Fetch me more seeds, minion.

Birds? Heck with the birds. Fetch me more seeds, minion.

Cardinal does not want to share seeds with another bird.

Cardinal does not want to share seeds with another bird.

My oldest sister calls the feathered visitors to her bird feeders her “winter flowers.”

I know that keeping the feeders in my yard doesn’t really do the birds that much good. They have access to an adequate supply of wild food from all the seeds of all the plants in  my gardens and in the woods behind my house. The real purpose of bird feeders is to bring the birds close to the house where I can see them. The feeders attract a trio of squirrels, too.

a01

Woodpecker–not an easy guy to photograph, comes and goes to feeder very quickly.

And this morning was a good one for viewing winter flowers and furry tree rats. It may be the shortest day of the year, but it was still, for a while, a bit colorful.

I did see a blue jay yesterday, and didn’t see that visitor this morning, but I still thought it a good morning since I saw both a cardinal chasing of other birds and a woodpecker at the feeder.

Saturday morning crowd at the back deck cafe.

Saturday morning crowd at the back deck cafe.

Hope you enjoy a few winter flower photos! A link to more.

Comments Off on The Winter Flowers At My Feeders

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.