And Where Were The Bugs Going?


Boxelder Bug on the walk at MMU, 11 a.m. Dec. 19. A bit out of season for a stroll, isn't it?

Boxelder Bug on the walk at MMU, 11 a.m. Dec. 19. A bit out of season for a stroll, isn’t it?

It was the final day of testing for finals week, and I had the longest exam of the week to give this morning.

It was a law and history exam, one that I’m sure was a challenge because most of the students were there right up until the end of the test period. It was the end of the work for students, but a lot remains still for me to do. So far, I have one exam graded, three more and a pile of papers and other assignments to grade.

But, that’s life.

And life can have it’s surprises. I strolled back to my office around 11 a.m., on the warmest day so far this week, temperature in the 30s, and there it was, walking along the sidewalk with me. Rather more slowly than I was going, but it was there and a surprise. A pill bug or pill millipede was strolling along.

Well, there’s something I don’t see every day–a bug in the midst of winter. I didn’t think much more of it until I got close to Warde Hall. And an insect, a Boxelder Bug, was strolling along the sidewalk there.

What are you doing out in winter, cold-blooded creatures? And where are you tonight as freezing rain is falling? And where were you going? And can you grade multiple-choice questions?

Comments Off on And Where Were The Bugs Going?

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.