And For Some Reason I Misplace the Christmas Music


Detail of a wreath hanging at Warde Hall on the MMU campus.

Detail of a wreath hanging at Warde Hall on the MMU campus.

I played bells tonight in the MMU “Lessons and Carols” program, and I planned to bring home a program, thinking that I might look up YouTube videos of some of the songs I enjoyed. The MMU choir and jazz groups both performed Christmas music that I really liked. The band sounded fine, too—but their music was more in the style of Christmas medleys, and I wanted to share some of the full songs that I enjoyed.

And I forgot the program. And I don’t know the names of Christmas songs well enough to find the ones I want. There was a haunting Welsh carol, and a Calypso number that sound just fine. Oh well. The bell choir also did well, but, among other things, we played “We Three Kings,” and, even if it does sound cool on chimes, you hardly need a video of that.

By the way, a chance to hear more of our group’s Christmas music is one week from Sunday at the annual Cedar Memorial concert. Watch this blog for future updates.

So, instead of sounds of this season, here is the morning’s theme. I lectured on the 1990s in my media history class. I am surprised the words “take me to da place I love” didn’t accidentally escape my lips, because the whole time I’m talking about the first decade of the internet or about the 1996 Telecommunications Act or the Bill Clinton scandal, this ’90s song was embedded in my brain, the wormiest of ear-worms.

Why? I don’t mind the Red Hot Chili Peppers, but they’re not exactly my favorites. Some ’90s Cheryl Crow would be more my style. But, this was the 90s ear-worm of the morning of the day that ended in much finer Christmas music:

Comments Off on And For Some Reason I Misplace the Christmas Music

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.