In Praise Of The Back Deck


Kids in pool.

Grandkids play on back deck in kiddie pool–only practical pool to own.

If I were a rich man, there are certain rich-man things that I’m not sure I would have. My own airplane, for instance, would seem like more of a hassle than it would be worth—even if I were so insanely rich that I could hire my own pilot and crew for “Joe Air,” I would still put up with commercial air travel.

Planes already go practically everywhere I would want to go, anyway. I’ll gladly just rent a little space on one when I want to go. And no, despite the crash in San Francisco, I doubt I’m taking much risk by doing that—commercial air is probably the safest part of the whole transit system anyway.

I also don’t think that I would own my own pool. Not that it wouldn’t be tempting, to have a cool, clean body of water always at the ready whenever I want. I suppose I consider a pool more practical than an airplane, but even so … there are plenty around that I don’t have to buy. And I don’t want that much garden-tree space taken up by stuff that is not gardens or trees.

Anyway, if my wife or I won the big prize in the lottery, say the half-billion dollar award, she has always said she wants to replace the deck on our house with a three-season room.

I would go along with it, but I would sort of miss the deck, too.

Granted, it’s useless when it rains, and it’s a pain to have to clear snow from it just to ensure none will melt there and enter the house. But on a day like today ….

Well, today we set up a little kiddie pool and had six grandchildren splashing around on the deck. A huge mature maple tree keeps the deck in shade for all but the late afternoon hours, so despite the heat it was not a bad place to be.

It’s the one spot on our property, besides a few hanging baskets or planters on the front porch, where we put in annual flowers. The splash of color they provide is a nice counterpoint to the splashes of water that were happening there today.

The deck used to be where Zoe our dog hung out. Honestly, it’s a much nicer place without her. It’s easy for grandchildren to go out without “going out,” since it has a gate. And a built-in barbecue, which has been under-used this summer.

We should do something about that …

Anyway, a deck is like a kitchen—a homey place where people naturally gather.

So if I win the Powerball, I’ll miss that deck. Although I bet I will like the three-season room, probably even more than the pool and the Lear Jet.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “In Praise Of The Back Deck

  1. Toni Sheller

    Couldn’t you just build a deck off of the 3 season room?

Leave a Reply

