A Snow Day!


Bird in backyard oak tree is wondering when I'll put down the darn camera and fill up his feeder. Later, I did.

Bird in backyard oak tree is wondering when I’ll put down the darn camera and fill up his feeder. Later, I did.

Well, that changes things up a bit. We went from a rather creepy hyper warm bout of January thunderstorms on Tuesday morning to a bunch of white stuff falling from the sky overnight.

And so it goes, in Iowa. Although the storm that we’ve just endured is pretty much following a familiar winter pattern—5 or 6 inches of snow, then 30 mph and more wind, then clear nights that will get bone-chilling cold.

Still, despite having to shovel (the snow blower is not working since the starting string broke—anybody in CR know a good snow blower engine mechanic?) the white stuff, I have to admit that I can appreciate a snow day. I stayed up late getting grading done for class today, but then got to sleep in, and I also got to take a nap. Audrey and I were going to be at school while our daughter had an OB appointment today (she’s ripe and has appointments every week now), so the unexpected snow day turned, for a few morning hours, into a “play with the grandchildren” day.

So, here’s to snow. We need all the wet stuff we can get, and although this particular precipitation probably won’t soak into the ground, our empty lakes and rivers need the recharge. There are other nice things about this particular Iowa winter snow:

  • It was not too heavy. It wasn’t exactly light powder, and where it sat on the warmer-than-usual pavement it could get a bit mushy, but this was “medium quality” snow, not the heavy wet stuff you get in a spring blizzard. This was a chore to shovel, but did not feel like a weighty widow maker.
  • It covers the ground before the Arctic blast. The sleeping spring bulbs need both a bit of the cold to remind them that it’s not time yet, plus the snowy blanket to prevent extreme freezing.
  • It was pretty. I know, it’s also deadly, but life is a fatal condition and people die every day, fair or foul weather. Let’s enjoy the play of light on the ice crystals and gives thanks for the day we have.

So, back to work tomorrow, and the days will be slightly hectic as we recover from this unexpected break.

Snow covers bush in backyard garden. I don't know for sure, but I think around 6 inches fell here today.

Snow covers bush in backyard garden. I don’t know for sure, but I think around 6 inches fell here today.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A Snow Day!

  1. Cate Sheller

    I take my lawn mower to The Sled Shed down in Czech town – I think they do snow blowers too. If you want, you can borrow mine – it’s in the garage and has never been used, because I’m stubborn and still shovel, and Paully’s stubborn and thinks I need a snow blower.

    Also, don’t describe your daughter as “ripe.” It’s just too disturbing!

    • CRGardenJoe

      Hmmm. I’m not sure what the correct term is to use in the final trimester at 39 weeks or so. Not “ripe.” “Ready to bud?” “About to stork out?” “On the verge of a partum party?” “Going to evict the wet monkey?” Somehow, I’m felling more disturbed …

Leave a Reply

