Tune for Tuesday: Looking for America


OK, two version of the same song. I always liked this song, and when Simon and Garfunkel sang it on Letterman in 2006, well the old dogs still have the vocal cords three, almost four, decades later. Anyway, I like this version, which is illustrated with someone’s (not mine or anybody I know) parents in 1969:

The next, much longer version is  by the group “Yes,”  an acquired taste, but they’re from “my” time in the 1970s, and yes, I do have several Yes albums, including “Yesterdays.” I do prefer the S&G version, but also enjoy his very different cover of the song:

I guess the song sort of fits my Advent/Final Week coming mood.  It expresses a sense of longing, even in the louder Yes version.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

