In A Warm Gazette Newsroom, Waiting For Vic by Rick


Gazette Newsroom

Gazette Newsroom, doubled as second TV studio, too, on caucus night. That's a U of I professor surfing, which is what I was doing, too.

Who would have thought it?

It’s 10:05 p.m. and Jefferson County is the biggest one with no votes counted. Will it tip Iowa to Mitt Romney? Rick Santorum?

I spent caucus night in the newroom of The Gazette, acting as an on-line and on-TV “expert” of sorts. I hope I sounded OK. It’s been fun and I wouldn’t mind a chance to do this sort of thing again.

The caucus results themselves are a bit of a surprise. Based on the kinds of things he’s said in the past, I don’t think Rick Santorum is going to play that well after Iowa, so if he pulls out a win (and even if he only comes in second, he has pulled out a win), he won’t be in the race in the long run. The Mike Huckabee of 2012.

A less likeable Mike Huckabee. Not sure Fox will be offering him an on-air deal soon.

Anyway, Iowa doesn’t really picked the nominee anyway, it just eliminates thet candidates who hang on, hoping for a miracle that doesn’t come. Sorry Michelle.

And the other Rick says the race is a marathon, but frankly I think he’s been done for a while.

So, on to New Hampshire. And while it was fun, I’m glad my TV time is drawing to an end. Any of you that caught the act on TV or online, what did you think?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “In A Warm Gazette Newsroom, Waiting For Vic by Rick

  1. Hey Joe, Erich and I saw you on the news last night-in fact Erich told me you were on live on KCRG-TV 9. Nice sweater vest, heh, and you looked pretty posed. The caucus results were a bit surprising, although Santorum had been polling a bit higher in recent weeks so maybe it wasn’t a complete shocker. If anything I think that last night’s results show that Mitt Romney is going to take the nomination, as Ron Paul needed to win Iowa to stay viable in the race.

  2. I can’t find you on air on line. I hope they post it. I’d like to see it.

    • crgardenjoe

      Yeah, my part was spontaneous chatter–not packaged stories. I don’t think they put the “live” stuff online after the fact–just video archives of the packaged stories. Sadly, I think my TV career has evaporated into the ether …

Leave a Reply

