Joe’s Face for Radio


Radio microphone

Image "The Little Microphone that Could" by Bjorn Hermans from Fotopedia.

It was a little surreal.

I was interviewed for a morning radio news program today on WMT radio in Cedar Rapids. I’m going to give a public “Faculty Forum” next Tuesday at 7 p.m. in Flaherty Hall at MMU, and the radio host was going to ask me some questions.

I’m also suffering what for me is a fairly rare respiratory infection. Many members of my family suffer with all kinds of sinus ailments, allergies, persistent coughs, etc., but, while my digestive tract can be a touchy, my respiration system seems to have been built by Toyota.

Not this week. GM from the early 1970s.

Anyway, due to the uber-cold that won’t end, I’ve been sleeping poorly this week. Got to bed before midnight last night and got up a little past 5, and had far less than 5 hours of sleep in between, since there was a whole lot of coughing and bloviating and other nasty stuff in those restless hours.

So, how did the interview go? My memory, clouded by exhaustion, might not be 100 percent accurate, but it seemed like this:

Radio Host: What about them caucuses?

Me: Blah, blah-blah, blah. Blabbidy blah. Blah blah blah blah blah. Blah; blah! Blah! Blah: blah, blah and blah. Last hurrah.

Radio Host: It all started in 1976 with Jimmy Carter, right?

Me: Blah. Blah. Blah, blah, 1968, blah, blahbitty blah, 1972, blah. Blah, blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah (radio host inadvertently snores) blah, blah blahbitty, blah blah.

Radio Host: So this talk is next week. When is it?

Me: (Stunned silence, not even a blah. I have no idea. Should have known that lamestream media would try to trip me up with their tricky, fact-based questions.)

Anyway, Emily, the media relations person at MMU, e-mailed me that she was listening and that she thought I had done a good job. The host actually asked fairly easy questions and I tried to be chatty, and I didn’t honk or cough or bloviate during the interview.

But I did feel a little blah.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Joe’s Face for Radio

  1. I’m fairly sure, based on previous “performances” that you did fine. You always sound intelligent and informative on those TV appearances.

    BTW what is your definition of “Bloviate”?

  2. crgardenjoe

    To me, it means spout like a whale. I know among the chattering classes it means to make strong but empty statements, and I was deliberately using it in the other sense in this blog post for ironic, humorous effect. Ha ha.

  3. Mariah

    Oh, those guys at WMT are really nice. Glad they went easy on you!

Leave a Reply

