Photo Fever: Where the Hummingbird Feeds


Hummingbird.

UPDATE: After posting blog about hummingbird, I saw and photographed it!

Foxglove
Foxglove in wall garden in front yard, tasty to hummingbirds, apparently.

Yeah, I got it,  photo fever. My new Nikon makes me hungry.

The Gazette wasn’t there Wednesday morning, so I called. When they finally delivered it, I went out to pick it up, and a slight movement in the corner of my right eye made me glance towards the wall garden.

Where a hummingbird was feeding in the foxglove.

What a freaky, fast, funny bird. Hovering like a Huey for an instant, but then flitting off like lightning.

I watched it for maybe 5 seconds. Of course, I thought of grabbing my Nikon. Of course it would have been hopeless, the hummingbird finished its breakfast in a few seconds and flitted off.

Well, I was ready today. I sat on the front stoop reading The Gazette, camera worn like a necklace. But, did not see the bird, so I took some flower photos, most in the front wall garden where the bird-drawing foxglove are finishing their blooming, but a few in back, too.

Some photos here, more in a Facebook album.

And I have to be philosophical about the hummingbird. Even if she didn’t cooperate and get her photo taken, she was cool to see and I hope I glance her again. Catching her image isn’t likely, but it would be really, really cool.

And now I want a close up macro lens Garden Muse uses for her excellent photos. Oh well, I’m getting better garden photos this year anyway, and I need to learn how to use the Nikon.

The daddy longlegs is OK, but he’s no hummingbird.

UPDATE: Well shoot darn.  Spoke or wrote too soon.  After posting this entry on my blog, I cut myself a couple of slices of Audrey’s excellent homemade banana nut bread and sat down on my front stoop to enjoy breakfast.  With my Nikon, fortunately, as you can see on the first photo and in the final two at the end of this post. I was a bit far away, but the bird wasn’t staying long–still, it’s exciting to get any images at all of this quick little creature, and just cool to see it again.  (Looking at the photos, I’m not so sure the colors are dull, with hummingbirds it’s hard to see.)

Spider on bud

Spider on cone flower bud--actually, a daddy long legs, I think, a spider-like bug.

Asian lilies.

Asian lilies and buds in front wall garden (near foxglove).

The bird!

Humming bird ready for a foxglove snack.

It's a bird!

The hummingbird, ready to fly off after a 3-second breakfast.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

