My Motto–Shoot It In the Grotto!


 

Final one

Yeah, not sure if it's worth 4 photos, but still, I liked playing with small changes.

Mary and copula

Statue of Mary in the Grotto with Warde Hall copula in background. She’s also framed by the Grotto kiosk she is housed in.

Saw an art class in the MMU Our Lady of Sorrows Grotto midday today as I was walking across campus–a photo class busy capturing images.

Later, when I crossed campus, I couldn’t resist. I’m not sure what images they were capturing, but I was playing with three ideas: Framing, repetitive forms and angles.

The Grotto is a great place to spend a bit of time, and I found myself sort of daydreaming–when I was done and ready to leave, it was almost a shock to realize that very noisy heavy machinery was banging away in the background at the construction site of the University Center.  Had not tuned into to it.

Anyway, I’d be curious to see their Grotto pictures from this fine sunny day. Here are mine.

Water fall

Must have been inspired by Kathryn Hagy images. Some of my photos were of the rocks at one of the artificial waterfalls that circulates water and helps to limit mosquitoes in the pond.

Falls 2.

Rocks and water.

Waterfall

Water and rocks.

Final water one.

Last falls image.

3 icons

I liked the juxtaposition of the Ten Commandments monument, bridge and copula, several of these images.

Ten Commandments.

Another view.

Closer view.

Zooming in makes objects appear closer together.

Daffodils

Some plants. I like the dagger-shape of young daffodils before buds appear.

Side view

Daffodils from the side.

Daffodils

Final side view with a bit of Grotto as backdrop.

Rock

Detail of railing leading to Grotto bridge.

Stairs and shadows

Just liked the afternoon shadows on the steps leading down to the Grotto.

Lilies

Day lilies start to sprout near the top of the stairs that lead to the Grotto.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “My Motto–Shoot It In the Grotto!

  1. Cate

    Reminds me of the days of the Calumet, when we’d just walk around looking a for a picture to cover the empty space on the front page! The Grotto has improved a lot since I worked at the Mount – it was kind of a ruin then. And it’s not a “statute” of Mary unless there’s a law related to her stone face that I am unaware of!

  2. crgardenjoe

    Ooops. Statute of Mary was one of the original copyright laws–must be the media history prof in me coming out ….

Leave a Reply

