Quack: Not Humming Tunes, But Show Was Fun


I am not sure I will ever look at Maria Upmeyer the same again. The Mount Mercy student played a saucy character in the musical farce “Quack,” which Audrey, Ben, Theresa and I attended.

Was it good?

Well, yes and no. Much of the humor was rather low double entendre, but it was delivered with good timing and enthusiasm. A student crowd often appreciates low humor, and liked this, and, to be honest, I don’t usually mind it myself.

It was both entertaining and funny.

Tony Nikels (sorry, Tony, if I didn’t get the last name right), who besides being an important pianist for just about anything musical at Mount Mercy is also my personal best movie reviewer, provided good keyboard accompaniment.  And there was a gentleman I don’t know who can really play the drums.

The cast enjoyed their roles, and I enjoyed seeing their energy and enthusiasm.

Quack

Caty Lunemann and Jim Bohy in the musical "Quack." Mount Mercy Times photos by Cynthia Peteresen.

Faculty member Jim Bohy was fun to see, although he talked in an odd voice that sounded a bit like a Dudley Do-Right imitation, and I’m not sure why.

My biggest qualm is that, as a musical, it didn’t leave me humming many of its songs. When I see “South Pacific,” I will be ear-wormed by “There is Nothing Like a Dame” for weeks. It’s not exactly my favorite song, in fact it makes me cringe, but I can’t think of “The Sound of Music” without “Climb Every Mountain.” I hated “Grease,” but just typing that word, sadly, made “Summer Love” start rolling around in my brain like a dog on a dead pigeon.  Olivia, what have you done?

“Quack’s” music was OK, but the lyrics seemed a little strained, and I’m sitting here with “Please Don’t Go” by Pink in my mind. Why? Don’t know, maybe because the video is witty and we talked about songs we liked during the newspaper production cycle today.

Please, Pink. You’re a fine singer, but your song can go. Maybe if there had been a more memorable song in “Quack,” that would help.

Well done, cast and crew. Just wish Caty’s fine voice had wittier lyrics to sing and that Tony had some catchier tunes at his fingertips.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

